shipglot

Shipglot and Locize compared

What Locize includes on each plan, what it costs at 2,000 to 40,000 keys, and when it is the better choice. Locize figures are from https://www.locize.com/pricing as of 2026-09-23.

Shipglot's hosted service is not open yet. The open-source QA gate works today. The Shipglot column describes the plan as published for launch, not a service you can buy now.

Monthly price by project size

Source keysShipglotLocizeHow the figure is reached
2,000$12$74Growth with word overage, 108,000 words
5,000$29$154Growth with word overage, 270,000 words
15,000$69$424Growth with word overage, 810,000 words
40,000$129$1,099Growth with word overage, 2,160,000 words

Words = keys × words per key × (target languages + 1), assuming Locize counts source and target words. The cheapest plan that allows the languages and seats, plus $5 per extra 10,000 words.

Assumptions:

Try other numbers with the Shipglot price calculator.

How each one charges

ProductWhat is metered
LocizeWords, languages, users and versions per plan, plus CDN downloads. Extra words cost $5 per 10,000.
ShipglotSource keys only, counted as the month's peak across all projects. Languages, seats, projects and features are unlimited; AI translation is included.

What each plan includes

For Locize, the cheapest plan that includes the feature, as stated on its pricing page. "Not stated" means the page did not say.

FeatureLocizeShipglot
QA checks (placeholders, ICU, plurals, tags)Not stated (plural and placeholder validation exists)Every plan. The open-source gate runs them today with no account.
Glossary and translation memoryGlossary from Growth ($49); translation memory freeEvery plan, at launch
Webhooks and APINot statedEvery plan, at launch
Branches and versionsVersions on all plans (1 to 50); branches from Growth ($49)Every plan, at launch (follows git branches)
Roles and permissionsNot statedEvery plan, at launch
SSO / SAML$20/mo add-on from Professional ($99); included in Enterprise ($199)Every plan, at launch
Audit logEnterprise ($199)Every plan, at launch
Reviewer workflowGrowth ($49)Every plan, at launch
Over-the-air / CDN deliveryFree (core feature)Every plan, at launch (fair use: 1M requests a month)
AI translationAll plans, billed per token ($0.000008) and per MT character ($0.00003)Included at launch: one full retranslation a month; prepaid credits beyond that
Seats1/5/5 users below Growth; unlimited from Growth ($49)Unlimited on every plan, at launch
File formatsAbout 23 (counted from the site)13 formats on every plan. The open-source gate reads all 13 today.
Human translator marketplacePartner translator network; plan not statedNot offered
Figma pluginYes; plan not statedNot offered
Self-hosted platformNot offeredNot offered (the QA gate runs anywhere)
In-context editorMentioned; plan not statedNot offered

Locize plans as published

PlanPriceLimits
Free$02,000 words, 2 languages, 1 user
Starter$7/mo15,000 words, 5 languages, 5 users
Starter-Plus$19/mo30,000 words, 7 languages, 5 users
Growth$49/mo60,000 words, 10 languages, unlimited users
Professional$99/mo100,000 words, 20 languages, unlimited users
Professional-Plus$149/mo150,000 words, 50 languages, unlimited users
Enterprise$199/mo200,000 words, 150 languages, unlimited users

Currency: USD. Source: https://www.locize.com/pricing, as of 2026-09-23.

Unverified figures

When Locize is the better choice

Locize is the better choice for small i18next projects with few languages: Starter is $7 a month for 15,000 words in up to 5 languages, below Shipglot's $12 band when a project fits. It is built by the i18next maintainers, serves translations at runtime from its CDN, and can collect missing keys from the running app, which Shipglot does not do. Locize also works today, while Shipglot's hosted service is not open yet.

Sources

Prices change. If a figure here is out of date, the competitor's pricing page is authoritative.